Wednesday, September 4, 2019

It’s kind of a funny story…


Congratulations to "Monica G.", the winner in Michelle's giveaway. Please contact JUST CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE to claim your prize!


It’s kind of a funny story…

So once upon a time, I was in grad school for equine-facilitated psychotherapy, at the first program in the country to offer a master's in this area. To our confused relatives, we’d correct, “No, not horse therapy. Therapy for HUMANS using HORSES.”

I ended up leaving the field of psychology to pursue writing, and with this book, I felt like I came full circle. It’s a romance between two trauma survivors, one who was kidnapped and assaulted, and one who lived through Hurricane Katrina and all the chaos of the aftermath. They’re both horse trainers and the book starts on a horse ranch in Montana, with so many parallels in the trust between horse and rider and the trust between two people tentatively beginning a relationship.

I’m so proud and happy to be able to share this sweet story of healing and finding hope and happiness again in an imperfect world. It feels like I found a way to help trauma survivors after all, through the power of story, which is its own form of therapy.

Book Info
Find out what a big city musician and a lonely cowgirl have in common in Michelle Hazen’s UNBREAK ME from Berkley Publishing. Andra Lawler must decide if she’s brave enough to leave the shelter of her family’s ranch for an uncertain future with Haitian-Creole cowboy, LJ Delisle. Fans of Emily Giffin and Colleen Hoover will devour this sweet, heartwrenching yet hopeful diverse romance.

UNBREAK ME was named one of Amazon's Best Books of the month of August and was the winner of RWA’s Lonestar Award.

“A seductive, slow-burn romance brimming with tenderness, hope, and transformation.”—Tammara Webber, New York Times bestselling author

“Hazen writes with grace and compassion about life after trauma, smoothly addressing racism, sexual assault, and large-scale disasters without pat answers or platitudes. This is a sure tear-jerker for any romance fan.” —STARRED Publisher’s Weekly review

Find out more at: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo 

Add to Goodreads Now!

What could two troubled souls from different walks of life have in common? Maybe everything.

Andra Lawler lives isolated at her family’s horse ranch, imprisoned by the memories of an assault in college. When she needs help training her foals, she hires a Haitian-Creole cowboy from New Orleans with a laugh as big as the Montana sky.

LJ Delisle can’t stand the idea that Andra might be lonely—or eating frozen TV dinners. He bakes his way into her kitchen with a lemon velvet cake, and offers her cooking lessons that set them on the road to romance. But even their love can’t escape the shadow of what they've been through. Despite their growing friendship and his gentle rapport with the horses, LJ is still an outsider facing small-town suspicions.

Before they can work through their issues, LJ is called home by a family emergency. In the centuries-old, raggedly rebuilt streets of New Orleans, he must confront memories of

Hurricane Katrina and familiar discrimination. And Andra must decide if she’s brave enough to leave the shelter of the ranch for an uncertain future with LJ.


Giveaway:

$10 Amazon gift card plus a digital copy of A Cruel Kind of Beautiful.

Author Info
Michelle Hazen is a nomad with a writing problem. Years ago, she and her husband swapped office jobs for seasonal gigs and moved out on the road. As a result, she wrote most of her books with solar power in odd places, including a bus in Thailand, a golf cart in a sandstorm, and a beach in Honduras. Currently, she’s addicted to The Walking Dead, hiking, and Tillamook cheese.


Giveaway ends 11:59pm EST September 5th. Due to GDPR regulations you no longer need to submit your email address in the comments. If you have been selected as a winner your name will be posted at the top of the post. You may then contact maureen@JustContemporaryRomance.com to claim your prize. Your email address will be shared with the author/publicist providing the giveaway.

7 comments:

  1. "Michelle Hazen is a nomad with a writing problem." OMG, I think you just described ME!!! (I just don't write published books; I write poetry for friends - and myself - as well as daily journal entries I often share with my besties.)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really like this cover. It's interesting that horses helped you change careers.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just read "Unbreak Me".... and im shook. Such a loving regard for characters suffering in the aftermath of trauma. LJ is like melted butter on one of his frying pans, so hot. And Andra is smart and soft and yet strong and not at all annoying like most women/girls in books. All the characters seem like real people I've known all my life. I'm gonna be recommending this book for year to come.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you for making such a complex male lead!! He's more than his features and strength. He has talents and flaws, he has not only depth of character but depth within the communities in which he interacts. I just wanna cry with how wonderful he is and how the book turned out.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm intrigued by the sounds of this, Michelle! Thanks for giving us a peek at this layered portrayal!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Both the cover and the premise are very eyecatching.

    ReplyDelete

Sign up for the JCR newsletter!