Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Most Embarrassing Moment

With: Michelle Hazen

Congratulations to "Suzy Q", the winner in Michelle's giveaway. Thank you to all who participated!


Most Embarrassing Moment with Author Michelle Hazen
AKA A Tale of Jiffy Lube and the Unspeakable

I’m here to celebrate the release of Playing the Pauses, the standalone Book 2 of my Sex, Love, and Rock & Roll Series. And what better way to celebrate than to share a cringe-worthy embarrassing moment from the writing of the book itself?

Like Jera, my songwriter from Book 1, I have a tendency to write on anything at hand when I get a moment of inspiration. The story of her writing a song on her best friend Danny’s shower curtain is very much a Michelle kind of thing to do. And since I do a lot of brainstorming while driving, I keep a dry erase marker on hand.

This has turned out badly for me in the past, especially while working on a construction site and using my windshield to plot the choreography for an erotic fanfiction I was writing (a story for another time, kiddies, and another blog).

On this particular day, I had taken my car to Jiffy Lube while my head was firmly in the clouds, plotting Playing the Pauses. The employees pulled my car through and parked it for me while I was in the waiting room. When they came to get me to pay the bill, I noticed they all seemed…very friendly.

They were smiling at me, and kind of chuckling and giving each other looks. I checked my fly, which was not down. My shirt, which was securely buttoned. And after that, I shrugged it off, figuring the only two options left were that they were laughing at my face or my personality—both I’m fine with and both I’m perfectly happy to lend out if you need a giggle or two.

But then I got back in my car, put in the key, and looked forward through the windshield. Which is when I realized what they were laughing about. Because on my windshield, I saw this:

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to laugh, cry, or run back in and assure them that no fictional animals were made uncomfortable during the writing of my book.

The story behind why I left myself this note, of course, is in Playing the Pauses. A lot of crazy things happen when a band goes on tour, friends. But I’ll assure you of one thing: whatever you’re guessing? That’s not it.


PLAYING THE PAUSES 

“Hazen’s use of the frantic energy of a rock band’s tour contrasts perfectly with the slow and seductive dance this couple engages in. Readers are sure to enjoy following The Red Letters on their drama-fueled climb to fame. “ —RT Book Reviews

“To call Playing the Pauses an erotic novel alone would be to belie its equally strong explorations of the boundaries between personal, career, and sexual growth.” —Midwest Book Review


When an ultra-independent tour manager meets the one musician she can’t resist, their kinks fit together perfectly, but their lives don’t. Michelle Hazen is back with PLAYING THE PAUSES, the second, stand-alone installment in her Sex, Love, and Rock & Roll series. Fans of Kylie Scott’s Stage Dive Series and YOU REALLY GOT ME by Erika Kelly, will love this bad boy, friends with benefits romance with a dash of BDSM mixed in.

PLAYING THE PAUSES

Rock Star Dom + his Queen of the Spreadsheet employee = KRYPTONITE

Kate is a globe-trotting tour manager who can’t be tied down.
Danny is a Dominant rock star and tattoo artist who needs her help to explore his true kinks.

Kate just got her big break, running an international tour for a rising band. Her job is everything to her…at least until she meets the band’s enigmatic bass player.

After they collide in one unforgettably erotic night on a hotel balcony, he comes to her with a proposition. As a former BDSM club performer, Danny’s spent so long fulfilling other people’s fantasies that now he wants to reclaim his own—and he says she’s the only one who can help.

Getting caught in bed with her rock star boss could cost her career, and yet there’s something about Danny’s quiet intensity that she can’t resist. He steals her heart, hard. But the end of the tour is approaching, and their jobs are headed two different directions.

To be together one of them will have to stop touring, but the only thing they crave as much as each other is music.

** This book can be read and understood as a standalone, but does contain spoilers for earlier books in the series. **

Goodreads http://bit.ly/2myge4G

Buy Now: Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo

Giveaway:
Michelle will be giving away a $10 Amazon gift card and an eBook of A CRUEL KIND OF BEAUTIFUL to one lucky person leaving a comment or email entry.


About Michelle Hazen:
Michelle Hazen is a nomad with a writing problem. Years ago, she and her husband ducked out of the 9 to 5 world and moved into their truck. As a result, she wrote most of her books with solar power in odd places, including a bus in Thailand, a golf cart in a sandstorm, and a beach in Honduras. Currently, she’s addicted to The Walking Dead, hiking, and Tillamook cheese.



Giveaway ends 11:59pm EST March 15th. Please supply your email in the post. You may use spaces or full text for security. (ex. jsmith at gmail dot com) If you do not wish to supply your email, or have trouble posting, please email maureen@JustContemporaryRomance.com with a subject title of JCR GIVEAWAY to be entered in the current giveaway. 

8 comments:

  1. Hahahaha, thanks you for this post. Brings a much needed laugh out of me! :))
    Congrats on your book release!!
    puspitorinid AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great story :) Thanks for sharing! I don’t read many BDSM books, but I’ll have to check out Kate and Danny’s story.

    natalija dot shkomare at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I once was moving out of an apartment and went across the hall to my neighbor’s place for a few minutes. When I went back to my place, and the front door was wide open, there in the middle of the floor was a vibrator. I guess it fell out of the couch and the movers didn’t know what to do, so just left it there!

    Suzy Q
    sumarel@hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the much needed laugh!

    jtcgc at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  5. funny

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for sharing :)

    amie_07(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  7. LOL That's a funny story. My life is full of embarrassing tales like that, it's nice to see I'm not the only one out there!

    ahui89 at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. That's hiliarious, thanks for sharing! I wonder how often the Jiffy Lube staff still talk about you haha

    thebigbluewall77 (AT) gmail (DOT) com

    ReplyDelete

Sign up for the JCR newsletter!