Sunday, January 17, 2016

Linny’s Sweet Dream List


Giveaway Alert!

Thank you, Maureen, for sharing Linny’s Sweet Dream List with your readers. I am very grateful! 

As my New Year’s gift to you and your readers, here is the complete first chapter of the book:     

Let me know if I can be of any help to you, and my best wishes for the New Year!

Susan


Linny suspected she’d made a mistake before the ink was even dry on their marriage certificate…

Linny’s Sweet Dream List is a Southern story about love and family, small town life and bright characters you are going to want as friends.

The book is a sunny, wholesome read. If you are ever overwhelmed by the bad news in the world, join me in Willow Hill, North Carolina where colorful characters are searching for - and finding - their happily ever afters.

Fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Dorothea Benton Frank may well enjoy Linny’s Sweet Dream List.

Excerpt:
Linny’s car runs out of gas. Jack finds her stranded and offers to drive her home.
Jack braked. “Which driveway is yours?”
            No way she’d let him see the trailer. Hurriedly, she pointed and unsnapped her seatbelt. “This is it. You can just drop me off.”
He gave a perplexed half-frown as he pulled in. “It’s one hundred degrees.”
            “But, but…” Linny she slumped as he took in the run down aqua trailer.
He turned to her for confirmation. “Is this it?”
“It is,” she said crisply. “Not what you were expecting?” she asked, bristling.
            “Not exactly,” he said evenly.
            Linny watched him warily. She couldn’t bear any judgment from him.
            “In vet school, I lived in a mobile home in the country. I liked it. Kept it tidy. Had horses for neighbors, and apple trees.” He rubbed his chin. “I ran a pet-sitting service, and tended bar. Did what I needed to do to pay the bills. No shame in that.”
            Her anger receded. He’d said just the right thing. She sighed inwardly.
      A van with lettering that read, ‘Flowers by Morgan’ crunched in behind them.
     Jack rolled down the window, and a dapper-looking man called out, “Hi, folks.” He glanced down at his iPad. “Flowers for Linny Taylor.”
    Who was sending her flowers? “That’s me,” Linny said, and stepped from the truck.
The smiling man handed her a vase full of colorful blooms. With a friendly toot of the horn, he pulled away.
    Jack leaned his arm on the open window, and drawled, “Are these from your date, that pretty boy I saw you with last night?”
    “He was a friend, not a date,” she responded tartly. She thought about Velvet/Bunny, and shot him a meaningful look. “And how was your date?”
    He looked puzzled. “I don’t know what you mean.”
    Of course he didn’t. Buck had used that same confused look when she’d questioned him about a credit card charge to Freida’s Frisky Boutique. Buck’s pained, you-don’t-trust-me speech left her feeling guilty. She said coolly, “Thanks for the ride.” Clutching the flowers, she turned and walked toward the trailer.

Linny‘s Sweet Dream List is the first of three Willow Hill novel. Two sequels to the novel, Sweet Carolina Morning and Sweet Southern Hearts – will be released later in 2016.


Bio:
Susan is a wife and stepmother. She enjoys weekend getaways with friends, reading fiction, and rummaging through thrift store and antiques stores for treasures like four dollar cashmere sweaters and amateur watercolor paintings. A dog lover, Susan has a special fondness for Lab mix rescue dogs. She and her family live in North Carolina where she is finishing up the third novel in the Willow Hill Series, Sweet Southern Hearts.

Susan graduated from James Madison University in Virginia, and holds a master's degree from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has used her professional background as a psychotherapist and management trainer to add authenticity to her characters.  

Email: susan@susanschild.com
Twitter:   @susan_schild
Susan’s Quarterly newsletter: http://www.susanschild.com/newsletter.html

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for writing about my new Southern novel, LINNY'S SWEET DREAM LIST!

    ReplyDelete

Sign up for the JCR newsletter!